LG3-34: Edit a Running Activity

The Edit Activity function is a feature that can be enabled or disabled for the entire customer domain. If enabled, a User with the Activity Manager security level can edit any Running Workflow / Activity - within their domain. The most common reason for editing an Activity are:

  • Change Task Duration
  • Change the User assigned to complete a Task (The Assignee)
  • Edit the Approval workflow such as Add and Remove Steps and Users within those steps

Important Note: It is not possible to edit Completed or Running Tasks, only those tasks that have not yet Started (shown as 'Pending').

 Edit and Save

  1. Open the Activity and click the Edit button located at the top left of the workflow details
  2. Make the required changes as shown in the steps below
  3. Click the Save button to update the workflow instance

The Workflow Instance can be edited using the Tasks tab or the Visualiser tab 

Editing the Workflow Instance using the Tasks tab

  1. Within the Workflow Instance Editor, click the Tasks tab

  1.  The list of tasks is displayed on the left. Locate and select the task to be edited

Add an Approval Step

Within the list of tasks on the left, an approval can be identified by an eye icon and an expand arrow on the right of the approval name:

  1. To add an approval step, click the Approval name
  2. Then, in the properties on the right, click Add Approval Step
  3. The new step should now appear on the left along with the other existing approval steps. Click the step to view and edit it's properties

Note: you may need to scroll up to the top of the page to view the properties

Edit an Approval Step 

Important Note: You cannot edit a step if the step has already begun - i.e. if it is currently Running.

  1. Locate and select the step to be edited on the left side of the screen
  2. The properties should now appear on the right (top) side of the screen (you may need to scroll up to view the properties)
  3. To Add a User, click the  button above the assignee list and select the user from the Contact list displayed
  4. To Remove a User, click the  button against their name

 

 

Delete an Approval Step

  1. Select the step within the list of tasks on the left side of the window
  2. In the properties for that step at the right (top) side of the screen, click the Delete button

Editing Task Durations

To edit the duration of a Task or Approval Step, place the workflow in Edit mode first.

  1. Click the Task in which the duration needs to be amended
  2. Locate the Duration property in the Properties panel on the right side of the screen and amend the value as required (hours)
  3. Click the Save button at the top right of the edit screen

Editing the Workflow Instance using the Visualiser tab

  1. Within the Workflow Instance Editor, click the Visualiser tab
  2. To drill into an Approval and view the approval steps, simply click the approval task node in the diagram as shown below

  1. To navigate back to the root of the diagram (the previous screen), simply click the Approval name again.
  2. To edit an approval step or any other task, right click on the diagram node as highlighted below

  1. Make your changes as required and click Close on the pop-up task editor

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk